And 5 months later…

Posted: February 20, 2012 in family, friends, me, Party, sad, student life, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

…I have my life back. At least for a few weeks.

I admit it.I might have worked a bit too much during the last few months considering the fact that my studies should be my first priority. Oh well, I guess money does rule the world. But besides working and studying I’ve managed to have a little fun as well.

USA motto party

yo momma motto party

We’ve also gone on a few trips. We went to check out Kassel, the hometown of one of my friends, during Christmas time. We had so much fun even though it was freezing cold and very slippery especially on the mountain. But there is nothing hot wine can’t fix 😉

Hercules monument in Kassel

view down from Hercules

Christmas market in Kassel

I also became an aunt. My nephew and little prince Matti was born 10 days before Christmas. I was so happy when I finally could drive up north to see my family and Matti for Christmas.

the little prince

I could have cuddled this smelly angel forever but duty called and I had to leave and go back to Gießen shortly after the new year had started. In January I started a second job. Not the smartest idea considering the fact that the exams and final presentations were coming closer. But hey, money!

Frankfurt

My other job is in Frankfurt so I have to use the trains to get there. And while doing that I also found out that the warning “mind the gap between platform and train” makes perfect sense and should be taken seriously. To my defense I have to say that it was very slippery (and I was in a hurry) so I slipped right into the gap with my entire right leg. I do not recommend that. It is scary and very hurtful. And time-consuming. And I am certainly not one of those people who have lotsa spare time to see doctors. Thankfully the train did not move until I was out of there but I smashed my leg and was not allowed to stress and use it so I could not work any of my jobs: bye bye money. And thanks to the pain: bye bye sleep.

I needed surgery but luckily my puppy eyes worked and I could convince the doctors to wait until after my exams. The pain faded a bit and I could attend the “it’s all over” party. Unfortunately I could not drink alcohol but I still had a good time.

celebrating the end of the exams

our knowledge on the floor 😉

Oh yeah, in between all of the above I also had to move apartments as my contract ended. But the painting and building the furniture had to wait until after the exams.

I finished everything just in time for my long-awaited surgery. I admit I was freaked out, scared and horrified and could not sleep for days. Doctors, needles and hospitals are not really my cup of tea. But the “chill pill” I had to take right before my surgery made the world pretty awesome and sparkly again and I was a bit more relaxed until they totally drugged me with the anesthesia.

time for surgery

First thing I did after I woke up again was to check if they took the right leg. They did but they bandadged the entire leg so the only thing I could see was a disgusting blood-filled tube coming out of my leg. And this is when I fell asleep again. Don’t remember the other stuff that happened that day. Except for the burning injection. Even though I have already been getting those for over a month now it still hurts and stings like a bitch.

Some of my friends came to visit me in hospital the next day. It felt so good to see someone I knew especially since my family could not be there. My friends got me a cute care package which made my eyes all teary. But after a few hours of happiness it was time for boredom, nurses and injections again.

I love my friends

Luckily, I only had to stay in hospital for a few days. Now I’m at home trying to relax and enjoying some time off-work. And next week I’m off to see my family and friends up north for a few days. Life is good…until it’s time for that stupid injection again.

Leave a comment